Category Archives: Architecture

Castle Garden

Castle Clinton or Fort Clinton, once known as Castle Garden, is a circular sandstone fort now located in Battery Park, in Manhattan, New York City. It is perhaps best remembered as America’s first immigration station (predating Ellis Island), where more … Continue reading

Posted in Architecture, Geography, Immigration | Leave a comment

Jefferson Market

From Wikipedia: The [Third Judicial] courthouse was completed in 1877, and in 1885 a panel of American architects sponsored by American Architect and Building News voted it the fifth most beautiful building in America. In the triangular block that housed … Continue reading

Posted in Architecture, Business, Law/Courts | Comments Off on Jefferson Market

Flatiron Building

This excellent photo can be found at Ephemeral New York: an 1884 shot of the corner where the Flatiron building now stands. A big, clear, detailed photo like this is a rarity. The 1902 Flat Iron building is iconic, as … Continue reading

Posted in Architecture, Geography | Comments Off on Flatiron Building